1st Distribution Committee

In the spring of 2013 a Distribution Committee was formed to determine the allocation of $7.7 million from the Sandy Hook School Support Fund to the 40 most impacted families of the tragedy. Members of the committee were: Judge Alan Nevas (chair), Dr. John Woodall, and Joe Smialowski. At the request of the families, Ken Feinberg, a victim compensation master with a national reputation, advised the committee and assisted in the actual claims/distribution process. This distribution was originally scheduled to be completed in May, but was temporarily paused while meetings were held at the request of the CT Attorney General George Jepsen. It resumed on July 11 & 12 with private and public forums.  Distributions were made in August 2013.  For further information about the 1st distribution, click here NSHCF – final protocol.